AUK Home Page AUK Home Page
About AUK Academics Admissions Student Affairs Intensive English Continuing Education Library IT
Bookmark and Share

AlMultaqa Arabic Short Story Prize Announces the 2016 Shortlist

The AlMultaqa Arabic Short Story Prize jury has announced the ten shortlisted authors for the 2016 prize.

The 10 AlMultaqa Prize Nominees are:

  Author Name Short Story Collection Country Publisher
1 Ahmed Omar Hudhud Fi Zujaja Syria Halab Publishing
2 Anis Arrafai Masahat Al Dumi Morocco El Eain Publishing
3 Haider Abdulmohsen Qetat Aareya Iraq Dar Imdaa
4 Khadija Alnemer Al Afkar Al Sabeha Bayn Al  Sama' wal  Ard Saudi Arabia Difaf Publishing
5 Ziad Khadash Asbab  Rae'a lel  Buka' Palestine Al Ahliya Publishing
6 Abdessamia Bensaber Al Skabandu Morocco Dar ALFarasha Publishing & Distribution
7 Issa Jabli Ka'an Amdi Khalf Juthati Tunisia Dar Zayneb Publishing
8 Lutf Alsarary Al Raja' Adam Al Qasf Yemen Arweqah Publishing
9 Mazen Maarouf Nekat Al Musalaheen Palestine Riad El-Rayyes-Al-Kawkab
10 Mohamed Rafie Asal Al Nun Egypt Rawafed Publishing

Over the past few months, a jury comprised of accomplished writers, critics, and academicians reviewed 189 collections of short stories from published authors from 15 different countries; Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, Palestine, Yemen, Morocco, Tunisia, Libya, Iraq, Sudan, Oman, Kuwait, and Algeria.

AlMultaqa Jury Members are:
- Mr. Ahmed Al-Madeeni (Chair of the Jury)
- Mr. Ezzat Al-Qamhawy (Jury Member)
- Mr. Salma Saleh (Jury Member)
- Dr. Fadya Al-Faqeer (Jury Member)
- Dr. Ali Ajail Al-Anezi (Jury Member)

Chair of the Jury, Mr. Ahmed Al- Madeeni stated that the committee had evaluated the submitted works based on the fulfillment of certain criteria and technical elements necessary for short story writing. The committee also looked at the spirit of innovation, novelty, and consistency of form and content, as well as the presence of an integrated humanitarian aspect in the selected short story collections.

The jury will continue its work to announce the five shortlisted authors in November, 2016. The 2016 winner will be announced in December, 2016 at a ceremony that is to be held at the American University of Kuwait that brings together the five shortlisted authors and well-known figures from the literary world.

The author of the winning short story will receive USD 20,000 (Twenty Thousand US dollars), a trophy and a certificate of recognition, as well as a grant towards the translation of the prize-winning short story into English. The winning writer or publisher will communicate with the translator and arrange for publishing the story with foreign publishers.

About AlMultaqa Prize
AlMultaqa Prize was launched in December, 2015 as a joint initiative by the Cultural Circle's Founder and Manager, Mr. Taleb Al-Rifae and the American University of Kuwait to promote and encourage writers to pursue and master the art of writing Arabic short stories.

Released by the Office of Public Affairs on the 1st October 2016

<< Previous      More...      Next >>

All News     

Quick Links
» Academic Calendar
» Events Calendar
» College of Arts and Sciences
» College of Business and Economics
» Apply
» Graduation Information
» Direct Access to Self Service
» Final Exam Schedule
» Center of Gulf Studies
» Online Payment
» Registrar
» Advance Registration Schedule
» CCE Course Schedule
» Academic Support Services
» University Publications
» AUK Videos
» Catalog
» Course Description
» Schedule of Classes
» Dartmouth College
» Private Universities Council (PUC)
» PUC Scholarships

  Site Index | Careers | Webmaster | Search | Contact Us
 Content copyrighted. All rights reserved. American University of Kuwait 2004 - 2014.
American University of Kuwait
P.O.Box 3323, Safat 13034, Kuwait
Tel: +965 2224 8399