The University

The American University of Kuwait (AUK) is an independent, private, equal opportunity, and coeducational liberal arts institution of higher education. The educational, cultural, and administrative structure, methods and standards of AUK are based on the American model of higher learning. The language of instruction is English.

Established by Amiri Decree 139 in 2003, AUK was accredited in 2006 and re-accredited in 2008, by the Private Universities Council (PUC), Ministry of Higher Education - State of Kuwait.

AUK offers students a quality education based on an American college model. The faculty, administration, and staff work hard to create a caring environment where every aspect of the student’s development gets attention and support. The course of study is designed to prepare students for the contemporary world where critical thinking, communication skills, and life-long learning have become imperative. The Liberal Arts education fulfills students’ educational goals and requires rigorous effort in the Major discipline (field of study); it also brings the rewards of a broad general education useful in their future career, whatever field they choose.

The AUK faculty is a highly qualified group of international academics with first-hand experience of the American style of higher education. There are over 117 faculty members, including over 78 undergraduate faculty with PhDs or terminal degrees. With a class size of 10 to a maximum of 34 students, it is easy for students to get to know their professors and classmates.

AUK currently offers thirteen degree programs. In addition, students receive instruction in academic skills, time management, and stress reduction. At AUK students will find opportunities for internships, creative talent development, health and fitness maintenance, and community involvement. Advising is very important in the American-college Liberal Arts model, so students should be sure to seek guidance from the academic advisors and counselors at the Academic Advising Center and their professors.